Publication1-CS.jpg

The cover for the first book that I will be releasing in 2017.

So a book that I had hoped to have published later next year just isn’t going to happen. I’m still finding too many gaps in my research that I need to fill in. If that turns out to be impossible to do, then I will have to reframe the story to minimize the need to have those gaps filled in. Either way, I’ve got a lot more work to do than I thought I did.

That messes up my publishing schedule for next year. I had planned to have out a new historical fiction novel, a non-fiction history book, and a short historical fiction ebook all under James Rada, Jr. I also wanted to publish a paperback edition of a horror ebook that I wrote as J. R. Rada and a new ebook collection and the second book in a middle reader series as J. R. Rada. Postponing one of the books had a domino effect on the others.

Enter one of the nice advantages of self-publishing. It’s flexible.

I love the Marvel cinematic universe. Not only do I get to see the classic superheroes of my youth come to life, but I love the interconnected movies. However, Marvel Studios plans those movie release dates years and years in advance nowadays. I think I saw where they had some movies planned for 2020 releases and beyond.

So what happens if one of those movies of a particular superhero flops? What if the superhero movie dies off? What if they can’t get a successful actor to extend his or her contract?

ogbml4ls20UZbUjtSPv-o.jpg

The Marvel movie schedule that was released earlier in 2016 and has already had to change.

They’ve already had some kinks in their well laid-out plans. The Inhumans movie got pushed back and may be cancelled for instance. On TV, they actually added a Punisher TV series to their plans because the character from the Daredevil series turned out to be so popular.

When you are a behemoth like Marvel, making those types of changes is like tossing a big boulder into a pond. It creates a big splash with a lot of ripples.

I know some indie authors who make far-reaching plans like Marvel, but what happens when they run into unforeseen problems?

I like to plan my publishing schedule out a year in advance, but I keep it fairly loose. It only starts to firm up as we draw closer to the end of the year. Meanwhile, I have a lot of projects partially written or outlined that I review every so often just to update.

Being flexible as an indie publisher means that I was able to move the project that needed more work into my unscheduled active project pile. I looked at what I had that might fill the gap while not totally sucking up so much of my research time that I couldn’t work on the delayed project.

I even looked at the other projects. I am trying to keep things fairly balanced between the two names that I write under, fiction and non-fiction, and the different geographic areas where I have strong sales. Removing that one book, caused me to make some other changes to my schedule as well.

My point is that I was able to do so. I have a new publishing schedule for 2017 with just as many projects that hits my goals. I think it is a version that will work because I’m feeling the excitement that I feel when things click into place. It’s an aggressive schedule that I can meet with new exciting books, and this time next year, I’ll have even more projects planned, some brand new and some from my unscheduled pile.

You may also like these posts:

