I love freelance writing. It’s a great job. It may not be for everyone, but it certainly suits my personality.  It’s not a perfect job, though. I doubt if there ever is one.

One of the negatives of the job is that there’s no vacation or sick time that you accrue.

Vacations usually aren’t a big problem. I know they are coming far enough ahead of time so I can make sure any deadlines that fall during my vacation are taken care of ahead of time. I can also spread the extra work out so that I don’t have any days where I’m trying to do double my usual work.

The same can’t be said for sick time. There’s no warning for that as I discovered last week. A kidney stone had me in near-constant pain for three days. I couldn’t manage to focus on much of anything except not yelling.

During the short bouts of time where the pain faded, I did the essential things that had to be done. Everything else, I pushed off to a later time.

I made it through the sick time, but now that I’m back to myself, I got to catch up on all of the work that has piled up. It surprising how quickly it does stack up.

That’s when the flexibility that I love about freelancing comes in handy. I spent Monday catching up on the work that I pushed off while I was sick and Tuesday catching up my Monday work as well as my Tuesday work.

At the end of the day, I took a deep breath when I had finally caught up with my work.

So while freelancing has its drawbacks at times (and it has more than the one I mentioned here), the advantages give you some ways to deal with them that you might not have otherwise.

