October Mourning Cover

The current cover for October Mourning

BookCoverPreview

The new cover for October Mourning

 

 

 

 

 

When I first started independently publishing, I had my books printed by a traditional book printer. They did good work, but it was a big upfront cost for 1,000 copies at a time. It also gave me headaches when I tried to decide whether to do additional printings.

These early books were listed on Amazon, but under their Advantage Program. You couldn’t tell the difference on the Amazon page, but my net profit was far less than it is under the Createspace Program, which I’ve used to print my books for the past few years.

As I’ve been selling out of the traditionally printed books, I’ve been switching them over to Createspace. It hasn’t been a problem until now.

October Mourning is ready to be switched over, but unlike the other traditionally printed books, I don’t have a cover to use for the new printing. I tried to scan one of the books, but it’s not working. Each scan I try was some problem with it.

So I decided to do a new cover.

That’s not too big an issue because I was never really thrilled by the old cover. However, I decided I didn’t want to use a cover designer because the book is now 10 years old. I wasn’t sure that I could make back the cost of the cover.

So I worked up a cover. Actually, I came up with two, but this is the one that I decided I liked more. How do you like it compared to the current cover? Do I nail it or do I need to go back to the drawing board?

I’m really curious to see if the new cover will breathe some new life into the book. If it does, I have a few older books that I may recover.

So my need to create a new cover for one book has turned into a marketing experiment that can help multiple books.

