I went back a year in my blog posts to revisit my 2015 New Year’s Resolutions in regards to my writing. Here’s what I wanted to accomplish this year as I wrote at the end of 2014.

  1. Publish three new books.
  2. Ready three more books for publication.
  3. Get two new projects started.
  4. Get published in three new magazines.
  5. Attend at least 50 festivals, speaking events, or booksignings.

So how did I do?

UntitledPublish three new books.

I’m not sure which books I had in mind when I made this resolution, but I only published two. The Last to Fall: The 1922 March, Battles, & Deaths of U.S. Marines at Gettysburg came out in the fall and The Man Who Killed Edgar Allan Poe was published this week. Although it missed the Christmas season, it barely made it in under the wire for 2015 and is in time for Edgar Allan Poe’s birthday next month. Two books seems to be my average, but with my trying to establish a pen name as well as writing under my own name, I may need to push myself to three books a year.

Ready three more books for publication.

I missed this goal, too. I have one book that is just waiting for a cover and it will be ready to be published at some point in 2016. Currently, I have four other book projects in various states, but I can’t say that any of them are ready for publication. I am really pushing for one of the projects in particular to be completed in 2016, but it is forcing me to go outside my writing comfort zone. That’s not a bad thing, but when you have to learn new techniques to writing, it slows down your progress.

Get two new projects started.

This goal I did accomplish. The projects got started, and are slowly moving along. I’ll work on them here and there when I hit writers block on my main projects. When these new projects move to the top of my “to do” list, I’ll have a good start and I’ll be able to jump right into them.

Get published in three new magazines.

This one worried me as I checked on it since I really hadn’t tried to expand into new publications this year. However, when I checked, I was pleased to see that I had been published in three new magazines. These were The Gettysburg Companion, Hanover Magazine, and frank. Magazine (yes, the lowercase f and period are correct).

 11061652_10207601915987824_7251681378657725713_nAttend at least 50 festivals, speaking events, or booksignings.

Now this one I did put forth effort toward. I attended 56 festivals, speaking events and booksignings this year. Many of them were new places for me and some of them turned out to be excellent venues that I will continue to attend. The interesting thing about doing events is that many times I got ideas for articles and invitations to do other talks from them.

So I made three out of five of my goals for the year. I was disappointed that I couldn’t achieve all of them at first until I realized that in reaching as many as I did, I had earned 28 percent more this year than I did in 2014. I also sold more books than I did in 2014, although it might fall a bit short of my personal record. Now I’m wondering how good I might have done if I had achieved all of the goals that I set.

