UntitledWhen I was a teenager, I was fascinated by the mysterious Poe Toaster. Each anniversary of Edgar Allan Poe’s death, he shows up at some point to leave three roses and a half-filled bottle of cognac. In the 1990s, I wrote a novel about the Toaster, but then I put it in a drawer as I pursued other goals.

I came across the book earlier this year and read it. I found that I still liked the story, although it needed some editing and updates.

I wanted to see it in print, but one of the updates I decided it needed was to use a pen name since it is not the typical historical fiction and history that I have been writing under my own name.

The Man Who Killed Edgar Allan Poe tells the story of the Poe Toaster, but it is not the story of some superfan showing his dedication to one of America’s great writers.

Edgar Allan Poe died a mysterious death in 1849. Found delirious on the streets of Baltimore and wearing clothes that were not his own, Edgar was admitted to Washington Medical Center where he died without explaining what had happened to himself. Even his medical records and death certificate have been lost to history.

The Man Who Killed Edgar Allan Poe is the story of the two men whose blood feud brought about Edgar’s death.

Alexander Reynolds and Matthew Cromwell have both lived many lives under many names. They are men of biblical renown, resurrected men who, having died once, can no longer die until the foretold Second Coming.

Eternal life has its cost, though, whether or not Alexander and Matthew want to pay it. Alexander has already seen Matthew kill Edgar’s mother and he is determined to keep the same fate from befalling Edgar.

It’s a historical horror story that I’m sure will thrill readers while at the same time allowing them to learn more about the life of Poe. One of the inspirations I used while writing this book was Amadeus, the historical fiction work about the life of Mozart. I always liked how the fictional elements of the story had been woven into Mozart’s life, which is what I did with Poe’s life and my fictional story.

Learn more about the Poe Toaster here.

