SnowDayGirl02As I sit here battling the winter blahs and waiting for my youngest boy to get home school early because of the threat of bad weather coming in, I realize one of the peeves I have about being a freelance writer. I don’t get snow days.

When I get the morning calls around 6 a.m. saying whether school has been cancelled or not, I’ve already been at work for an hour. The same snow that gives government employees liberal leave simply means that I probably won’t be able to reach people that I need to talk to on the phone.

Yes, I know it’s not a big peeve in the grand picture, but it would still be nice to have an excuse not to work every once in a while.

This drawback of freelancing is offset by the fact that I do make my own schedule. I may start work early, but I can take a nap in the middle of the day when I start to feel dragged out and then hit the ground running in the afternoon. That’s nice. I just read this morning that Winston Churchill used to take a 1.5 hour nap each day and credited for allowing him to cram a day and half of work into a single day.

By the same token, I don’t get paid vacation. This usually means that in the days leading up to any vacation that I take I find myself doing more so that my vacation days are still relatively free. I still take my notebook computer along to check e-mail and deal with any issues that might arise.

On the flip side, I can take as much vacation time as I want as long as I’m meeting my deadlines. I was able to take four days off last week to go to South Carolina to see my son graduate from marine recruit training at Parris Island.

So that’s my gripe as I try to fight off the blahs.

