Challenge_Future_New_Year_ResolutionsSo it is New Year’s Eve and a time to evaluate 2014 and look forward to 2015 in terms of my writing and goals as a lot of other bloggers are doing.

I only had one new book come out this year, Lock Ready. It was the conclusion of a historical fiction trilogy that has been 10 years in the making. I had plenty of articles published, but as far as I can tell none of them were in any new publications.  I did get my “Looking Back” history column into another newspaper, though.

I did about 50 percent more speaking engagements and festivals this year, and I started teaching occasional writing classes at a new college.

For the past month, I’ve been working hard to write at least 1,000 words each day. I’ve been able to hit that goal, but I’ve found that it takes longer than I thought it would, particularly if I cut a lot from a project I’m editing (I subtract that amount from my totals). What seems to be suffering if my marketing, and that was never my strong area to start with.

So my output could have been better, and I’m seeing that reflected in my income for the year. However, I also laid a lot of groundwork that should start paying off in 2015.

I expect to be editing and writing for a new quarterly magazine coming out in the spring. I’ve already lined up about a dozen speaking engagements and festivals for next year with more on the way so I think I will probably see another 50 percent increase in that area.

I’ve got six books that I am actively working on. Three of them should be published next year. I was able to handle to increased book workload this year because two of the projects are being done with co-authors (something new for me) and one project is editing and adding some material to an unpublished memoir from the 1940’s (also new for me).

Since 2000, I’ve been writing history and historical fiction. I’ve dabbled in some other areas with e-book projects. Next year, I will publish a YA novel. My very first novel back in 1996 was a YA novel, but I was never able to get a second one published with that company and moved onto historical fiction.

The new project will be published under a pen name, J. R. Rada. I know it’s not very different than my real name. I’m not trying to hide who I am. I just want to develop this pen name as a brand for my future YA and fantasy fiction.

So what are my writing goals for 2015?

  1. Publish three new books.
  2. Ready three more books for publication.
  3. Get two new projects started.
  4. Get published in three new magazines.
  5. Attend at least 50 festivals, speaking events, or booksignings.

Anybody have any suggestions for anything else that I should include?

