goodreadsI upgraded my Goodreads page recently to be an author page recently. I’m not sure why I haven’t done it before now. If I want to find readers for my books, then I need to go where the readers are.

It’s a good thing that I did. When I tried to make sure that all of my books were connected with my name, I found out that they weren’t. Only three were listed under “James Rada Jr.” So I checked by title and realized that my books were also listed under “James R. Rada”, “James Rada, Jr.”, “James Rada Jr” and “James Jr. Rada.”

Since it was confusing for me to find all of the variations, how could I expect a reader to be able to find other books by me if there were five different names they were listed under. The good news is that Goodreads was very quick to fix everything once I e-mailed them.

Now that I’ve got the page up, I’m going to start exploring the site more fully. It looks like I can do a lot more as an author than I can simply as a reader.

Marketing and building a brand can be so exhausting and confusing. As a writer, I want to write, but I find that the marketing and branding takes up just as much of my time.

So what has been your experiences with Goodreads? What do you like about it? What have you tried doing on the site?

