320004_10150370257646867_270838901866_8795066_1718063802_nIt’s summer and the kids are out of school. It’s also the peak time for festivals and booksignings, for me at least. I’m doing about three times as many events this year over the number that I did last year. It means that my weekends this summer are already pretty full. I’m also trying out some new venues this year.

Though these events can be pretty exhausting, I like attending them to meet people who enjoy reading and/or history. It gets me out of my office and often out into the sunshine. We can talk about mutual likes. While I often sell a lot of books, I also make contacts for future speaking engagements and events. I meet people who have interesting history nuggets to share and other who turn out to be good sources for things like photographs that I use with my articles.

It’s all part of the marketing seeds that writers have to plant. Some of those seeds may not take root. For instance, a booksigning that is poorly attended. Other seeds may sprout into trees that continue to bloom year after year. I attend Heritage Days in Cumberland year after year because it’s fun and I sell a lot of books.

Just as real seeds need to be nourished so do marketing seeds. In the case of the booksigning that flopped, it got poor publicity. The press release got turned into the newspaper well before the event, but for some reason, it didn’t get published.

With the Heritage Days festival, I try to be in the same location every year and offer something new each year. I also try out different promotions to see which ones catch one. The latest improvement that helped with sales was that I was able to process credit card sales.

It may take me some time to learn all of the things that work to successful market my books, but I figure as long as I continue to learn, I reach my goals eventually.

