the-black-prism-lightbringer-book-oneI’m not sure why I finally decided to read The Black Prism by Brent Weeks, but I’m glad I did. I think I kept seeing it at the bottom of the Amazon pages of other authors that I liked and finally decided to buy it.

Even though this is the first book in a new epic fantasy series, there’s a lot of back story that you learn over the course of the book that give the characters a lot or richness.

In the world of The Black Prism, color is the basis of magic. Gavin is the Prism because he has the ability to harness that magic that comes from all colors unlike most of the people who have magic. They can control only one or two colors.

Gavin learns he has a bastard son in a far land where he fought during a war with his brother. Gavin never knew the boy existed, not because he left the boy’s mother the next morning, but because Gavin is actually impersonating his brother. He fears that the boy could be the beginning of unraveling the secret that he has tried to keep for so many years.

Besides having an interesting magic system and world, the book has plenty of action, likeable characters, mystery, romance and politics.

I liked that I couldn’t see everything that was coming. Enough of the story was wrapped up and enough left open for the next books.

So, as if I didn’t have enough books in my “to read” pile, I’m now going to be adding Brent Weeks books.

 

