My computer decided to take a vacation today. I’m not sure how long it will be away, but boy, do I miss it. Where it went I can’t say, but seeing as how it has internet access, it could be anywhere. I’m sure it is having more fun than I am today.

Why do I saw that? Because I pretty much make my living using a computer, so I’ve been left scrambling trying to find work I can do that either requires limited computer access, no access of my files or no computer use at all.

You might say that that I should have backed up my data for just such an emergency. I do. Once a month I back everything up to an external hard drive. However, I do it at the beginning of the month and it’s now the end of the month. So if I’m forced to use my backed up data, I lose everything from this month, including the stories I have that are due to editors tomorrow and Monday. Plus, I can’t even access my research and interviews to rebuild them.

Can you say stress!

As has been observed by many people, computers are great when they work, but there are times when they send my blood pressure through the roof.

If there is a silver lining, it’s that I’m doing some of the tasks I’ve put off for awhile in an effort to fill my work day. I would have preferred doing this when I didn’t have deadlines hanging over my head, but at least they’ll be done.

Maybe one of the things I’ll do today is go shopping for a new computer.

