I’ve been working on a new book that has caused me to step outside of my comfort zone a bit. It hasn’t been a challenge to write it. I’ve found most of the information I needed relatively easily. What has driven me a bit crazy has been doing the interior layout.

I’ve self-published my books starting with my third one back in 2000. In that times, I’ve always used the trade paperback size (5.5 inches x 8.5 inches) and the layout has been fairly easy since it was either a novel format or a nonfiction format with a few pictures.

My new book is called, No North, No South…: The Grand Reunion at the 50th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg. The first change it brought was that a 8 inches by 10 inches, it is the largest book I’ve formatted.

The more-challenging change is that the interior formatting not only includes dozens of pictures but also sidebars , pull quotes and text columns. I’ve been formatting the book on Microsoft Publisher and it has been frustrating at times. I’m starting to get the hang of things now and I can actually see how much easier it is to format with this program.

I only worry that once I go back to formatting a novel, I’ll forget all of the things I’ve learned through hard knocks. I do think that the final product will look pretty nice, though!

Hopefully, I’ll be able to show you the cover art soon. That’s one duty I still farm out to a great designer who always comes up with something great!

