It’s amazing how many kinds of ways I can find to distract myself when I’m reluctant to do something. The something in this case being getting to work on a new novel.

My last novel was October Mourning, a thriller set during the 1918 Spanish Flu pandemic. I published it in 2006 so it has now been six years since I’ve written a novel. I’ve dabbled on projects, but haven’t gotten into a project yet.

It’s not that I haven’t been busy with other books. I’ve published three non-fiction books and Saving Shallmar will be this fall making it four.

However, I cannot get myself going on this new novel and I don’t know why. It’s not like I haven’t written novels before. I’m finding it hard to make the transition from non-fiction to fiction. I didn’t have the same problem making the reverse transition. I find myself working on other projects or nothing at all. It’s driving me crazy!

Anyone got any suggestions for how to break this writer’s block?

