My newest book arrived today. I’ve seen the book in proof form and as a pdf, but there’s something about getting the finished product and holding it in your hands that gets my heart racing. It’s the culmination of a year or more of work.

I know it’s only the beginning of the work that I need to do to make the book successful, but still, it’s nice to step back, take a deep breath and appreciate my own work. Usually, I keep myself so busy with multiple projects that I don’t get to do that often. I’m currently working on a new e-book about Babe Ruth, formatting a trade paperback about a coal town and working on outlines for other future project.

But for today, I’ll put those aside, flip through Looking Back II: More True Stories of Mountain Maryland, and enjoy it. I’d also like to thank Stephanie E. Long for doing a great job  designing the cover and preparing the photographs for publication.

 

