A good vacation can give you enough ideas to fill even this meteor crater near Flagstaff, AZ, which is large enough on the floor to fit 20 football fields. By the way, I got quite a few ideas when I visited here.

I just got back from vacation in Arizona. I have been there before and I saw some of the same things this time. However, this time, I found myself pulling out my notepad a couple times a time and scribbling down notes – things about places I visited, people involved in things I saw and connections between those things and markets I commonly write for.

It was only after I got home and flipped through my notes that I realized I had a lot of new ideas. Some might pan out; others not, but I’ve got plenty to work with.  It also taught me that if you are in the right frame of mind, you can find ideas all around you and vacations put me in the right frame of mind.

That frame of mind is to be curious about the world around you. I guess nothing makes me more curious than when I get a change of scenery, such as when I’m on vacation. Visiting those new places usually means just about everything about the place is new to me so I try to take it all in. With no pre-conceived filters on how I take in information, everything becomes a potential idea for me.

So when people talk about how going on vacation allows them to come back refreshed for work, this is one way I think that happens. Vacations make the holes in my idea net a lot smaller so I catch more ideas and it’s an effect that lasts for a while after a vacation.

I think that’s a good excuse to take more vacations.

