I enjoy the Elvis Cole novels written by Robert Crais. However, I joined the series a few books into it and I’ve been trying to catch up on some of the older books since then. Free Fall is one of those and though it was good, I don’t think it is as strong as Crais’ later Elvis Cole novels.

In Free Fall, Cole takes on the case of a young, attractive woman named Jennifer Sheridan who thinks her cop boyfriend has gotten himself into a lot of trouble. A simple case that was expected to be about a cheating beau turns into something involving gangs, drugs and dirty cops.

Elvis Cole is a great character. He’s a fun detective who has an interesting past and some fascinating friends. One of those friends is his partner, Joe Pike. I like Pike because of his contrast to Cole, but I find him almost a white version of Robert Parker’s Hawk.

My recommendation is definitely to read Robert Crais’ books. Just don’t start with this one.

