I’ve been teaching part-time for a year now at Harrisburg Area Community College. I teach classing in writing novels, self-publishing, writing columns and writing for magazines. I enjoy it enough that I’ll be adding a few more classes in the near future. What always surprises me, though, is that I know enough to teach the classes.

I still consider myself a student because there’s so much that I know I need to learn to improve my own writing. Then I stand in front of my students–I won’t call them kids because they range from 20 to 70 years old–and I’m able to answer their questions. Many times I can even answer the question with an example from my career where I either failed or succeeded at what they ask about.

That’s when it hits me that even though I’ve still got a long way to go to get where I want to be with my own writing, I’ve come a long way. I’ve been a professional writer for 22 years doing a lot of different projects. My first published short stories were in the horror genre and I wrote marketing copy for a biotech company for my full-time work. Now I write historical fiction, magazine articles, history columns and news articles.

I keep looking forward so much at what I want to do that I forget to look behind me and see the progress I have made toward my goal. I know if I’ve made it that far, then I’ll eventually get to where I want to be. How much do you want to bet that when I do get there, I’ll already have my sights set on some new further out goal?

