I had heard good things about Ted Dekker’s books for awhile and decided that I would give him a try. I’m not sure how good his other books are, but Skin was nothing exceptional. It’s definitely not a good one to start reading if you want to read more books by Dekker. I’m not even sure I’ll read another one.

It’s not that the book was bad. It just didn’t interest me. I didn’t really care about the characters and the ending was a little confusing.

In Skin, five twenty-somethings are hunted by a mysterious man who wants to kill them, but not without inflicting psychological torture first. The group is trapped in the one of the few buildings that survived a group of tornadoes that apparently wiped a town and its inhabitants off the face of the earth. Apparently. Because nothing is as it seems and for the group to survive, they are going to have to figure out what is real and what isn’t even if it involves questioning who they are.

It seems like the story wants to be Koontz-esque in the beginning, but he would have handled it with much more suspense and more surprises. I think that was my biggest disappointment with the book. It didn’t live up to its promise.

