I have a couple books by James Rollins, but Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is the first one I’ve read. I figured it would probably be the least like his normal style since it’s a novelization so I wouldn’t be shocked if it was very different from his usual style.

I was a little disappointed with the science fiction ending of the movie when I first saw. I’ve come to see the logic with it having seen the movie a second time and read Rollins book. The original Indiana Jones movies were set in the 1930’s and 1940’s and followed the style of movies of that time. Kingdom of the Crystal Skull follows the Cold War and science fiction themes of movies in the 1950’s.

 The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is set in 1957 as the wisecracking and whip cracking Indiana Jones seeks the origin of a mysterious crystal skull. He is racing against Russians who are seeking to steal the skull for its reputed mystical powers. Along the way, Indy also discovers he has a teenage son he doesn’t know he had.

 Rollins followed the movie pretty closely, though there are some extra scenes, primarily at the beginning of the book. In the book, you get to find out how the Russians captured Indy by the opening scene of the movie. I thought Rollins did a good job of maintaining the pacing of the moving in written word.

Knowing the movie and having heard Rollins describe his own style, I would say the two are a perfect fit. The proof is in the book.

