While writing full time can be very rewarding, it hasn’t been so great for my health.

On the plus side, I didn’t have to drive in the blizzards this winter. I can do more things with my sons. I can help out around the house more with cookings, dishwashing and grocery shopping (which I do, so don’t roll your eyes, wives). I’m also around to take my sons off to various appointments. I like all that, don’t get me wrong.

However, my job is spent with my plopped down in a chair and since I’m self-employed, I like most small businesspeople, tend to work more than 40 hours a week. So I’ve become a couch potato without sitting on a couch. The result is the same though.

I put on weight and I’ve noticed that as I’ve gotten older, the weight has come on a lot faster. That, of course, has brought on all of those weight-related health problems that people can get.

So, at the beginning of May, I had finally had enough and got really motivated to lose weight. My goal is to get back to my college weight of 185. I’d also like to be under 10 percent bodyfat like I was back then, but that may be pushing it.

I’ve been very encouraged so far, I’ve lost 17 pounds in 3 weeks! I can even notice changes like having more energy and having to hike my pants up more often because my belt is as tight as it can go.

One odd benefit I’ve noticed is that I seem to be getting more efficient with my work, too. I’m getting more accomplished in less time. Don’t ask me how that’s happening, but it’s a nice feeling.

